The Curious Mummy Meets Robbie Thompson from Lean Mums

Print

The Curious Life of a Mummy HQ meets the founder of Lean Mums, Robbie Thompson. Lean Mums is a membership website, specifically designed to support the fitness and wellbeing of women from the beginning of their journey into motherhood and beyond. Lean Mums gives us the chance to workout from the comforts of our own home..so getting that bikini body can really fit around you. Robbie, shares with us his tips to waving good bye to those wobbly bits, so ladies stand up and take note.

Lean Mums i

Tell us a bit about yourself?

Hi I’m Robbie, I’m a personal trainer from Newcastle. I married my lovely wife Farrah last summer. We bought our forever house in October, which we’ve been busy stripping wallpaper, sanding and painting ever since.

I have such a brilliant set of clients who I work with on a daily basis. My most high profile client would be Vicky Pattison, she is my ‘ultimate client claim’ to fame. Vicky and I did her fitness DVD together a few years back.

I love my job, I get such a kick out of helping people to make positive changes to their lives. I always aim to leave people in a better place, not just in each session but in their fitness journeys in general.

 

Tell us about Lean Mums and what gave you the idea to start?

I had the idea when one of my female clients was unable to come to the gym. She had a very young daughter and tons of motivation but it just wasn’t possible for her to leave the house for the time she needed to come in and train.

I said to her, if only there was a way I could be in your home telling you what to do. So I created a series of home workouts. These workouts were perfectly suited to her needs as a Mum. I figured that if it could help my client it could help other mums too and that is where Lean Mums was born and grew from there.

Kneeling Row

 

How would you describe your philosophy about being fit & healthy?

I want people to find a way of eating and exercising that they enjoy and  allows them to live the life they want to. Restrictive dieting are overly complicated and time-consuming training is so unnecessary.  It doesn’t need to be complicated or take over your life, it is just about finding habits that work for you and help move you towards your goals.

 

What advice would you give to new mums on embarking on a fitness journey?

Just get started! Don’t feel daunted by where you are starting from. Each day aim to do a little more and before you know it you’ll have made huge progress.

 

How do you see Lean Mums fitting into your clients lives?

I want Lean Mums to work for mums however they need it to. I know some members love doing the workouts everyday and others use Lean Mums for the yoga and the recipes. It is really a great tool which can work for everyone at all levels.

The great thing about it is, it can be used anytime of the day or night and for however long you need. Sometimes life gets crazy and you might only fit in one 5 minute workout a week, other times you might do a 15 minute workout everyday.

I just want mums to use it in whatever way suits them and know that it’s there for whenever they need it.

 

Having self discipline is the biggest key to success, so when motivation wavers, what advice would you give to staying on track?

There’s a couple of strategies I recommend that work really well. The first is to take measurements and pictures and repeat these every 2 weeks or so. We see our bodies everyday and it can be easy to think that we aren’t changing or making progress. Having the pictures and measurements can help show you that you are progressing and to keep you feeling positive.

The second strategy is called the chain method. You basically put a big cross on your calendar for everyday that you do something positive for your health or fitness. The idea is to try to do this every day and grow your chain. Not wanting to break that chain will help you to keep going every day and so too will the results!

 

We all love a sweet treat or two so can you share one of your favourite, easy to make and healthy treats of all time? 

There are two in particular that my clients love and so too do the Lean Mums members. The first is Banana & Oat Bites with Almonds and Choc Chunks. It’s super easy to make; just mash some bananas, add oats, cocoa powder, honey and almonds and pop in the oven for 15 minutes. The second is the Lean Mums Super Easy Pancakes, you just need eggs and bananas to make them and served with yoghurt and bluberrries they are delicious! Oh and one more, if you haven’t tried Belgian Dark Chocolate Rice Cakes smothered with Cashew Butter you haven’t lived!

download (6)

 

What equipment do you need to start out?

You’d be amazed how much you can do just using your bodyweight. Lots of the Lean Mums workouts don’t require any more equipment than a chair or sofa. Some of the other workouts use light dumbbells but you can use tins of beans or bottles of water if you don’t have these.

If you were looking to buy a little starter pack though I would say get a yoga mat, an exercise ball and perhaps some light dumbbells.

Seat Squat

 

What’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever been given?

The best piece of advice I’ve been given in fitness would be ‘be patient and trust the process’. We all get impatient and start questioning if it’s working, it’s just about working away and the results will come.

The best piece of advice in life would probably be ‘treat others as you’d want to be treated yourself’.

 

If you could train anyone who would it be?

Peter Kay, it would be a right laugh wouldn’t it!

 

What’s your guilty pleasure?

Maple pecan danishs, I could eat hundreds of them I think!

 

What makes you laugh? 

My wife! And my wife’s little brother, he’s only 6 but comes out with the funniest things, he’s like a 50 year old man in a 6 year old’s body!

unspecified-7

Leave a Reply

